All events Concert

Oxford: Beethoven’s Ninth

Oxford Town Hall
Book tickets

The Philharmonia and Oxford Bach Choir in performance at Royal Festival Hall.


Benjamin Nicholas – conductor
Susan Gritton – soprano
Hilary Summers – mezzo-soprano
Luis Gomes – baritone
James Rutherford – bass
Oxford Bach Choir


Alissa Firsova To Spring

Poulenc Gloria

— Interval —

Beethoven Symphony No. 9, Choral

The Philharmonia was invited to perform with the Oxford Bach Choir in the Gala Concert for their 125th Anniversary. Joined by four first class soloists, we perform Beethoven’s Choral Symphony No. 9 with the famous setting of Schiller’s ‘Ode to Joy’. Composed between 1822 and 1824, this is Beethoven’s final complete symphony and one of his greatest achievements.

The choir and orchestra will also give the premiere of To Spring, a new setting of a poem by William Blake by young composer Alissa Firsova, which was specially commissioned for the Oxford Bach Choir’s 125th anniversary.  Francis Poulenc’s setting of the Gloria, for soprano, choir and large orchestra, written in 1959, completes the programme in this final concert of the choir’s 125th Season from Oxford Town Hall.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£20 – £45

Discounted tickets available for full-time students and U18s.

Running time:

2 hrs

Recommended age

From 7+

Box office

Phone: 01865 305305
In person box office at Oxford Playhouse

Book tickets