All events Small-ensemble performance

Philharmonia Chamber Players: Flamenco to Foxtrot

No ticket required

Philharmonia musicians Robin O'Neill and Mark van de Wiel.



Albéniz Asturias (Leyenda) Listen

Ravel Pavane pour une infante défunte Listen

Gershwin Three Preludes Listen

Ravel Five O'Clock Fox-Trot Listen

Gershwin Walking the Dog Listen

Chabrier España Listen

All pieces arranged by Robin O’Neill

Ravel and Gershwin rub shoulders in this free performance showcasing the virtuosity of Philharmonia Orchestra’s wind section, bookended by two passionate pieces inspired by the landscape and culture of Spain.

The drama and passion of Albéniz’s Asturias kicks off our evening of concert classics arranged for wind ensemble by Philharmonia Principal Bassoon Robin O’Neill, ahead of the introspective mood of Ravel’s Pavane for a dead princess.

Inspired by the sound of jazz music, which had taken the world by storm in the 1920s, Gershwin’s Three Preludes and Ravel’s Five O’Clock Fox-Trot from his opera L’enfant et les sortilèges weave syncopation and bluesy sounds into their charming music. Gershwin took this one step further in Walking the Dog, the most enduring number from hit Hollywood musical Shall We Dance with Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers.

Finally, we return to the vivid Spanish flavours that opened our performance, in French composer Chabrier’s most enduring piece of music, España.

FREE, no ticket required

Need to know

Prices & Discounts


No ticket required – just walk in

Running time

45 minutes, no interval

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717
Monday to Friday 10am – 5pm

After the event

Soprano Gweneth Ann Rand

Brighton Festival: A Sea Symphony

Ilan Volkov – conductor
Gweneth-Ann Rand – soprano
Duncan Rock – baritone
Brighton Festival Chorus

  • Kaija Saariaho Oltra Mar
  • Vaughan Williams A Sea Symphony
Brighton Dome

Harpist Emily Harris in black blouse smiling.
Small-ensemble performance

Foundling Museum: MMSF Fellow Lunchtime Recital

Emily Harris – harp
Naori Takahashi – violin
Edward Leung – piano

  • Ibert Entr’acte, Duo for Violin and Harp
  • Handel Harp Concerto in Bb major, First movement
  • Spohr Fantasia for Harp
  • Robert Schumann Romance No. 2
  • Fauré Berceuse for Violin
  • Paganini Cantabile
  • Saint-Saëns Fantaisie for Violin and Harp
Foundling Museum

Live screening

2001: A Space Odyssey Live

Robert Ziegler – conductor
London Voices

  • 2001: A Space Odyssey
Royal Festival Hall

Pianist Samson Tsoy

Bold Tendencies: Poems of Ecstasy and Fire

Gergely Madaras – conductor
Samson Tsoy – piano

  • Scriabin The Poem of Ecstasy
  • Scriabin Prometheus: The Poem of Fire
Bold Tendencies, Peckham


Royal Festival Hall

Royal Festival Hall

Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road

View on Google Maps

No ticket required