Keep the Philharmonia Playing: many live concerts up to March 2021 are sadly cancelled. If you can, give what you can to keep the Philharmonia playing for you.

Donate now

All events Online concert

Philharmonia Sessions: Hrůša conducts Dvořák

Visit our YouTube channel

Cellist Alisa Weilerstein


Jakub Hrůša – conductor
Alisa Weilerstein – cello


Dvořák Silent Woods, for cello and orchestra

Dvořák Rondo, for cello and orchestra

Dvořák Czech Suite

Dvořák wears his nation’s heart on his sleeve in the Czech Suite, with its graceful Polka, stately triple-time Sousedská and energetic Furiant. So too does Jakub Hrůša, who lives and breathes the music of his homeland and loves to share it on the international stage. Hrůša’s conducting testifies to his experience of this music as movement, as well as sound.

We have friendship to thank for the first two pieces in this programme. Both were intended for Dvořák’s friend Hanuš Wihan to perform, with the composer himself at the piano. Dvořák later arranged them for cello and orchestra (and wrote his Cello Concerto for Wihan too).

As anyone who walks in the woods will know, they are never silent, but they can give us a deep sense of calm. Our opening piece, too, is profoundly peaceful, the cello singing over an orchestral backdrop sprinkled with expressive woodwind solos.

Soloist Alisa Weilerstein, recently praised for the ‘sunlit clarity’ of her playing (The Guardian), gets to show us her more extrovert side in the Rondo, whose sprightly recurring theme frames passages of increasing virtuosity.

Watch online


Philharmonia Sessions: Hrůša conducts Dvořák

Keep the Philharmonia Playing

As a charity, we rely on the generosity of individuals like you to support the work we do through successes as well as these periods of difficulty. Please consider making a donation to our Keep the Philharmonia Playing appeal to secure our future and help us stay digitally connected with our audiences around the world.

Donate now

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

Free to watch

The Philharmonia Sessions are free to watch. Make a donation today to support the Philharmonia Sessions, keep our musicians playing and secure the future of the Orchestra

Running time

60 minutes

Is this a live performance?

No, this is a deferred broadcast/stream. It is performed and filmed shortly ahead of the broadcast date and time

Was it produced safely?

Yes. We are working with independent health and safety experts and have robust risk assessment procedures in place drawing from Public Health England advice

Where to watch

The performance will be streamed on the Philharmonia’s YouTube channel

Will it be available after broadcast?


Programme notes

Read the programme notes here


Upcoming online concerts

Philharmonia Sessions

Enjoy specially created online performances of some of the most uplifting classical music

Read more

Support the Philharmonia

Donate today to Keep the Philharmonia Playing for our audiences around the world

Donate now

Visit our YouTube channel