Keep the Philharmonia Playing: many live concerts up to March 2021 are sadly cancelled. If you can, give what you can to keep the Philharmonia playing for you.

Donate now

All events Concert

Russian Classics Part I

The Marlowe, Canterbury

Photo of conductor Han-Na Chang


Han-Na Chang – conductor
Daniel Lozakovich – violin


Sofia Gubaidulina Fairytale Poem Listen

Tchaikovsky Violin Concerto Listen

— Interval —

Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5 Listen

From delicate strings to towering brass, join conductor Han-Na Chang for the first of our two concerts celebrating the golden age of Russian music.

Few works epitomise the era like Tchaikovsky’s turbulent Fifth Symphony, a work full of love, fate, despair, and a blazing finale that sweeps across the orchestra.

The Violin Concerto sees Tchaikovsky in a happier time of his life, its music growing from a timeless melody that instantly entrances the listener, placed tonight in the hands of soloist Daniel Lozakovich, an “exceptional talent” (Le Figaro).

To open, Sofia Gubaidulina’s atmospheric Fairytale Poem tells the charming story of a piece of classroom chalk that dreams of drawing beautiful scenes.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£15 – £49

Subscription and multi-buy discounts available; £10 ‘Discovery’ tickets available for ages 16-26; concession discounts available; £10 tickets for schools

Running time

2 hours, including 20-minute interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Box office

The Marlowe box office: 01227 787787


The Marlowe, Canterbury

The Marlowe

The Friars

View on Google Maps