All events Concert

Canterbury: Santtu conducts Dvořák and Tchaikovsky

The Marlowe, Canterbury
Book tickets

Santtu-Matias Rouvali conducting the Philharmonia at Royal Festival Hall


Santtu-Matias Rouvali – conductor
Pavel Kolesnikov – piano


Dvořák Slavonic Dances Nos. 1–3

Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1

— Interval —

Dvořák Symphony No. 7

Pavel Kolesnikov plays Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No. 1 with the Philharmonia and our Principal Conductor, Santtu-Matias Rouvali.

“How on earth can you make this concerto sound new?” asked Bachtrack, writing about Pavel Kolesnikov’s London performance of Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto, performed with the Philharmonia. The answer: “Kolesnikov stripped away all of the testosterone and revealed the concerto as a multi-faceted musical jewel that glitters all the more brightly because of its delicacy.” Now in Canterbury, Kolesnikov reimagines this work anew, offering an unmissable opportunity to hear his refreshing take on one of the most ravishing of all piano concertos.

Santtu conducts, surrounding Tchaikovsky’s concerto with music that shows us two very different sides to Dvořák, from the lively folk rhythms of his Slavonic Dances, to the broodingly beautiful Symphony No. 7.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£16 – £51

Multi-buy discounts available; £10 ‘Discovery’ tickets available for ages 16-26; £10 tickets for schools

Running time

2 hrs, including an interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Box office

The Marlowe Box Office: 01227 787787


The Marlowe, Canterbury

The Marlowe

The Friars

View on Google Maps

You may also like

Book tickets