Eun Sun Kim – conductor
Lucas Jussen – piano
Arthur Jussen – piano


Texu Kim Spin-Flip

Mozart Concerto for Two Pianos, K. 365 Listen

— Interval —

Tchaikovsky Symphony No. 5 Listen

The brilliant Jussen brothers join the Philharmonia for sparkling Mozart, ahead of Tchaikovsky’s anguished but enduringly popular Fifth Symphony.

Mozart composed his Concerto for Two Pianos to perform with his sister Nannerl. Who better to share its lively musical conversation, full of argument and counter-argument, echo and agreement, than Lucas and Arthur Jussen? The brothers’ playing is so well matched that they make two pianos sound ‘for all the world like a single instrument’ (Gramophone).

Korean conductor Eun Sun Kim is a champion of the music of Texu Kim (no relation). She opens with his delightful Spin-Flip, for an orchestra featuring a huge range of percussion instruments. Inspired by the sounds and patterns of a game of table tennis, it’s the perfect partner for the give-and-take of Mozart’s concerto.

Tchaikovsky himself said that his Fifth Symphony represented ‘a complete resignation before Fate’, but that hasn’t stopped it becoming a firm audience favourite. It opens with the sound of funereal footsteps on the clarinet. A singing horn melody gives the second movement a more hopeful mood, but the fateful ‘footsteps’ theme returns in the third movement waltz, and triumphs in the stormy finale.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£15 – 70

Multibuy offer available; under-18s and concessions discounts available

Running time

1 hr 50 mins, including an interval

Recommended age

From 7+

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available here.

Box office

Philharmonia Box Office: 0800 652 6717
Monday to Friday 10am – 5pm

Before the event


Royal Festival Hall

Royal Festival Hall

Southbank Centre
Belvedere Road

View on Google Maps

You may also like

2023/24 London Season

Explore our 2023/24 season at the Royal Festival Hall.

Browse concerts

Sold out