All events Concert

Leicester: Mozart & Schubert with András Schiff

De Montfort Hall
£21 – £46
Book tickets

Andras Schiff performing on the piano


András Schiff – conductor / piano


Haydn Piano Concerto in D major, Hob. XVIII

Schubert Symphony No. 8, 'Unfinished'

— Interval —

Mozart Piano Concerto No. 24

Spend an evening in the presence of classical music royalty, as Sir András Schiff play-directs and conducts a trio of Classical masterpieces.

Tonight, András Schiff performs two of the finest concertos of the late 1700s. Sprightly, uplifting and featuring a Hungarian-style finale, Haydn’s concerto is the epitome of Classical elegance and expression. Mozart’s is deeply emotional and packed with feeling, from its intensely moving melodies to its masterful variations in the finale. Admired by the likes of Brahms and Beethoven, it is considered one of Mozart’s greatest works. Schiff directs the orchestra from the piano, as Haydn and Mozart themselves would have done.

Between the two, Schiff swaps the piano for the podium as he conducts Schubert’s unfinished Symphony No. 8. Despite its nickname, in just two movements, Schubert gives us some of the most beautiful, heartbreaking, impassioned music of the Classical period.

Need to know

Prices & Discounts

£21 – £46

Multi-buy discounts available; £11 tickets available for those aged 25 or under and students (£28.50 for top price tickets); half-price tickets available for recipients of Universal or Pension Credit; group booking discount available

Running time

1 hour 40 minutes, including 20-minute interval

Programme notes

Free printed programmes will be available at the venue. Digital programme notes available a week before the concert.

Box office

De Montfort Hall box office: 0116 233 3111


De Montfort Hall
De Montfort Hall, Leicester

De Montfort Hall

Granville Rd

View on Google Maps

You may also like

Book tickets
£21 – £46