Sunday 10 May 2020, 6pmRoyal Festival Hall, London

Venue Box Office: 020 3879 9555

Eunsley Park violin

Emma Oldfield violin

William Bender viola

Yaroslava Trofymchuk cello

Debussy String Quartet in G minor, Op. 10

Webern Langsamer Satz


Enjoy our final Philharmonia Chamber Players concert of the season, programmed by cellist, Yaroslava Trofymchuk. 

Debussy's String Quartet, the only one he ever composed, is a perfect example of the evolution of his writing style during the late nineteenth century towards what became known as the Impressionist style. He stretches the rules of classical structure harmony and points the way ahead. 

Webern, on the other hand, intended to write an entire quartet but put it aside after completing this one movement. Langsamer Satz is said to be inspired by a hiking holiday in the mountains outside of Vienna and is firmly rooted in post-Brahmsian Romanticism and tonality. 

This concert is part of the Philharmonia Chamber Players series