Tuesday 28 Jan 2020, 7pmTokyo Metropolitan Concert Hall, Tokyo

Venue Box Office: +81 03 5391 2111

Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor

Sayaka Shoji violin

Sibelius The Oceanides

Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1


Stravinsky The Firebird

Our Principal Conductor Esa-Pekka Salonen conducts a programme of poetic masterpieces, including Sibelius's The Oceanides and Stravinsky's Firebird. These two great works frame Shostakovich's Violin Concerto, performed by Sayaka Shoji. 

Enchanting, glistening, exotic, Stravinsky's Firebird was commissioned for Diaghilev's Ballets Russes. In this Russian legend, Prince Ivan enlists the help of the mystical Firebird to defeat the evil Kastchei, compelling the sorcerer and his menacing troupe to dance themselves to collapse in a frenetic 'Infernal Dance' before finally a solo horn announces the joyful arrival of sunlight and the destruction of Kastchei's powers.